By Jodi Milner

Jodi Milner author/bio pic

Back in 1992, a book came out that redefined what it meant to show and receive love. The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman teaches that there are five different languages people can speak. These languages are words of affirmation, gifts, acts of service, quality time, and physical touch. During the Christmas season, it’s really easy to get caught up in being busy. We get so busy, in fact, that sometimes we forget that many of us thrive on spending quality time with one another. 

Try this:

Everyone appreciates quality time, so make a point to schedule activities where phones and other distractions are put away. These activities don’t have to be complicated or expensive. Often it’s as easy as taking a walk together, or my favorite, making cookies. Family board game night or a movie night are also good choices. Moments like these are what people remember, so make them happen, and make them special.

quality time at Christmas


Personally, my love language is quality time. It makes a world of difference when someone spends their time with me, but I’m almost always too embarrassed to ever ask for it. This love language is also communicated to me when people make an effort to show up on time, or spend time making me a gift. A dear friend crocheted me a wonderful little gnome for Christmas this year, and it thrills me beyond anything that she spent her time making it just for me. Curious what your love language is? There’s a handy test over at Gary Chapman’s website

Click here for more STRONG MOM TIPS.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.